Digitalization

Digital Workspace

Since quite some time now, the so-called digital workspace is on everyone’s mind. When companies use it correctly, a digital workspace can lead to better communication within the team. Whole work processes can be designed in a much less complicated way and lead to less mistakes in the business operations.

 

Just like digitization overall, the digital workplace can lead to a better standing in the market for companies that know how to take advantage of the opportunities in this area.  

 

The Digital Workspace in SME

Some companies have already completely integrated the digital workspace in their processes. For others, there are still a lot of problems. Overall, larger companies have dealt with the idea of a digital workspace much better than small and medium-sized companies.

 

However, SME have a lot of advantages when introducing and implementing the digitial workspace in their companies.

 

  1. Digitization is a topic for management. And when the top manager introduces the digital workspace, the employees tend to happily go for it.
  2. In small and medium-sized companies, processes tend to be more centralized and the number of tools in use in the various departments is limited.

 

Both of these realities support the successful introduction of a digital workspace. As soon as an SME decides that they want to implement the digital workspace in their company, they are good to go and things are quickly implemented. 

 

The Digital Workspace in Numbers 

The study “Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft 2017” [article in German], for which more than 1.500 interviews were conducted with decision-makers and employees, offers great insights into where we stand in regards to the digital workspaceWhat is perceived to be part of a workplace of the future by both companies and employees is rather similar.

 

Only the order is different among the top three answers. Companies rate mobility and technology in first place. Employees see the rethinking of working hours models and/or home and remote work in first place. One’s first place answer is the other one’s second place answer and vice versa. Both consider the increased use of technological possibilities as coming in third place.

 

Three out of five interviewed companies say that the workplace of the future is already pretty advanced in their company or even that they are very advanced and that they see themselves as a pioneer. It is shocking that four out of five employees don’t consider themselves to work at a workplace of the future. Either these employees work in different companies or they simply have higher expectations.

 

The three most popular collaboration tools according to companies and employees are

 

  1. teleconferences
  2. workgroup tools &
  3. remote desktop

 

From the perspective of the companies, there is a bigger need regarding the topics „self help“ and „collaborative reviewing“. The employees instead consider „online project management“ and then a lot later also “self help“ as useful and important.

 

How important the digital workspace really is where recruitment of new employees is concerned (or of course in the employee retention) can be seen in the responses to the following question: „Suppose you had to decide between the offers of different employers that include the same salary. How important would the following options be in comparison to each other to win your acceptance?“

 

  • number 1: flexible working hours for a better work life balance
  • number 2: remote work and fewer compulsory hours at the office

 

Both are much more easily implemented as part of a digital workspace – or can’t be implemented without it. 

 

Digital Workspace

 

What exactly is the Digital Workspace? 

The digital workspace is part of the digital transformation that deals with the work processes of your employees. There are many expressions that are used as a synonym for the digital workspace:

 

  • workplace
  • workspace 4.0
  • work 4.0
  • digital workplace
  • workplace of the future

 

The definitions vary just like the possibilities vary to implement the digital workspace in different companies. I personally like the definition provided by CloudComputing Insider as it is easy but very broad: 

 

The digital workplace is a central work station that is completely digital and mobil. It represent the only platform that provides all features or applications needed to complete the work and allows for the collaboration among all groups. 

 

Simply put, the digital workspace is comprised of one or more tools that allow your employees to access company data – no matter where they are and no matter when they want to access it. What exactly that implies is different from company to company and depends entirely on the needs of your employees, clients, suppliers and other stakeholders. 

 

How does the Digital Workspace fit in my company? 

There are no universal methods and also no universal solutions when it comes to the introduction and implementation of the digital workspace. While there are good tools available that could be useful for many companies, the decision about what exactly is implemented, should be looked at closely.

 

Nevertheless, of course there are good suggestions that are universally applicable and that can support you in the successful implementation of the digital workspace in your company. The Computerwoche [German article] summarized these very well: 

 

  1. Central coordination point regarding the implementation in the company
  2. Controlled tests of new technologies
  3. Less tools thanks to consolidation of the IT
  4. Motivation of employees/ successful pilot projects 

 

If you would like to learn more about the possibilities of implementing the digital workspace in your company, just get in touch with us. Together, we can discuss the different possibilities.

 

And sign up here to receive the new blog posts directly in your inbox. The next article deals with the best German-language blogs about the topic digital workspace. 

 

Want to read more about Digital Workspaces? You can find further articles related to this topic here: Digital Workspace Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Digitalisierung

Digital Workspace

Digital Workspace Blog

Schon seit geraumer Zeit ist der sogenannte Digital Workspace in aller Munde. Wenn Unternehmen ihn richtig nutzen, dann kann ein Digital Workspace zu besserer Kommunikation im Team führen. Ganze Arbeitsprozesse können teilweise wesentlich unkomplizierter gestaltet werden und führen so zu weniger Fehlern in den Geschäftsabläufen.

 

Wie auch die Digitalisierung insgesamt, kann der digitale Arbeitsplatz eine verbesserte Wettbewerbsfähigkeit für Unternehmen bedeuten, die die enormen Chancen in diesem Bereich zu nutzen wissen. 

 

Der Digital Workspace im Mittelstand

Manche Unternehmen haben den Digital Workspace schon komplett bei sich integriert. Bei anderen hapert es noch ganz gewaltig. Allgemein gesehen, haben die großen Unternehmen sich dem Konzept Digital Workspace schon mehr angenommen als die kleinen Unternehmen und Mittelständler.

 

Jedoch haben die KMU einige große Vorteile, wenn sie den Digital Workspace bei sich einführen und integrieren wollen.

 

  1. Digitalisierung ist Chefsache. Und wenn der Chef den Digital Workspace einführt, dann ziehen generell die Mitarbeiter gerne mit.
  2. Bei den Mittelständlern sind die Vorgehensweisen oft zentrierter und die Anzahl der benutzen Tools in den verschiedenen Abteilungen überschaubarer.

 

Beides hilft bei der erfolgreichen Einführung des Digital Workspace. Sobald ein Mittelständler also beschlossen hat, dass er den Digital Workspace bei sich im Unternehmen integrieren möchte, kann es losgehen und schnell umgesetzt werden. 

 

Der Digital Workspace in Zahlen 

Die Studie „Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft 2017“, für die mehr als 1.500 Interviews mit Entscheidern und Mitarbeitern geführt wurden, bietet tolle Insights dazu, wo wir stehen was den Digital Workspace angeht. Was zu einem Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft dazugehört, sehen Unternehmen und Mitarbeiter recht ähnlich.

 

Nur die Reihenfolge in den Top 3 Antworten ist unterschiedlich. Unternehmen sehen die Mobilität und Technologie an erster Stelle. Mitarbeiter sehen stattdessen das Überdenken von Arbeitszeitmodellen und / oder Home- bzw. Remote-Arbeit an erster Stelle. Die jeweils andere Antwort ist auf der zweiten Stelle. Auf Platz 3 bei sowohl Unternehmen als auch Mitarbeitern ist die verstärkte Nutzung technischer Möglichkeiten.  

 

Drei von fünf der befragten Unternehmen sagen, dass sie entweder in der Entwicklung zum Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft schon relativ weit fortgeschritten sind oder sogar, dass sie sehr weit sind und sich als Vorreiter sehen. Erschreckend ist, dass vier von fünf Arbeitnehmern nach eigener Einschätzung noch nicht an einem Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft sitzen. Entweder arbeiten diese Arbeitnehmer also in grundsätzlich anderen Unternehmen oder sie haben schlicht und einfach höhere Erwartungen.  

 

Die drei meist benutzen Collaboration Tools laut Unternehmen und Mitarbeitern sind

 

  1. Telekonferenzen
  2. Workgrouping-Tools &
  3. Remote Desktop

 

Aus Sicht der Unternehmen gibt es größten Bedarf bei den Punkten „Self Help“ und „Collaborative Reviewing“. Was die Mitarbeiter als nützlich sehen und höher ansetzen sind „Online-Projektmanagement“ und mit viel Abstand dann auch „Self-Help“.

 

Wie wichtig der Digitale Workspace ist, wenn es um das Recruiting von neuen Mitarbeitern geht (oder natürlich auch die Mitarbeiterbindung) zeigen die Antworten auf die folgende Frage: „Angenommen, Sie müssten sich zwischen den Angeboten verschiedener Arbeitgeber entscheiden, die Ihnen das gleiche Gehalt anbieten. Wie wichtig wären dann die folgenden Optionen im Vergleich zueinander für Ihre Zusage?“

 

  • Platz 1: Flexible Arbeitszeiten für eine bessere Work-Life-Balance
  • Platz 2: Ortsunabhängiges Arbeiten und weniger Präsenzpflicht im Büro.

 

Beides nur oder wesentlich einfacher umzusetzen mit dem Digitalen Workspace. 

 

Digital Workspace

 

Was genau ist der Digital Workspace? 

Der Digital Workspace ist der Teil der digitalen Transformationbei dem es um die Arbeitsprozesse Ihrer Mitarbeiter geht. Es gibt viele Begriffe, die als Synonym für den Digital Workspace benutzt werden:

 

  • Workplace
  • Workspace 4.0
  • Arbeiten 4.0
  • Digitaler Arbeitsplatz
  • Arbeitsplatz der Zukunft

 

Die Definitionen variieren genauso wie die Möglichkeiten den Digital Workspace im eigenen Unternehmen umzusetzen. Mir persönlich gefällt die Definition von CloudComputing Insider, weil sie einfach, aber sehr umfassend ist: 

 

Beim Digital Workplace handelt es sich um eine zentrale Arbeitsplattform, die vollständig digitalisiert und mobil zugänglich ist. Sie stellt über eine einzige Oberfläche alle für die Arbeit benötigten Funktionen oder Anwendungen zur Verfügung und ermöglicht eine übergreifende Zusammenarbeit. 

 

Praktisch gesagt handelt es sich beim Digital Workspace also um ein oder mehrere Tools, die es den Mitarbeitern Ihres Unternehmens erlauben von egal wo und egal wann auf die Unternehmensdaten zuzugreifen. Was genau das beinhaltet, ist von Unternehmen zu Unternehmen unterschiedlich und kommt ganz auf die Bedürfnisse Ihrer Mitarbeiter, Kunden, Lieferanten und anderer Stakeholder an. 

 

Wie funktioniert der Digital Workspace in meinem Unternehmen? 

Bei der Einführung und Umsetzung des Digital Workspace gibt es keine Universalmethode und auch keine Universallösung. Zwar gibt es gute Tools, die in vielen Unternehmen anwendbar sind, aber die Entscheidung was wie eingeführt wird, sollte genau untersucht werden.  

 

Trotzdem gibt es natürlich einige gute Tipps die universal anwendbar sind und die bei der erfolgreichen Einführung des Digital Workspace auch bei Ihnen im Unternehmen helfen können. Die Computerwoche hat sie sehr passend zusammengefasst: 

 

  1. Zentrale Koordinationsstelle der Einführung im Unternehmen 
  2. Kontrolliertes Ausprobieren von neuen Technologien 
  3. Weniger Tools durch IT-Konsolidierung 
  4. Mitnahme der Mitarbeiter/ Lust auf mehr mit erfolgreichen Pilotprojekten 

 

Wenn Sie mehr über die Möglichkeiten, wie der Digital Workspace in Ihrem Unternehmen umgesetzt werden kann lernen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns doch einfach. Zusammen können wir gerne die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten besprechen.

 

Und tragen Sie sich ein, um die neuen Blogposts direkt an Ihre E-Mail-Inbox zu erhalten. Im nächsten Artikel geht es um die besten deutschsprachigen Blogs zum Thema Digital Workspace. 

 

Lust auf mehr zum Thema Digital Workspace? Dann können Sie hier weiterlesen: Digital Workspace Artikel

One thought on “Digital Workspace

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.