OpinionProject Management

A Masters in Project Management – Is It Worth It?

A Masters? – Yes/No?

Stefan Hagen is currently investigating this question on his blog – PM-Blog.com.

 

I would like to provide my opinion about this as well…

I think that further training in principle is always worth it. That is especially true in the fast-paced times we live in today. To what extent a masters in the area of project management is worth it, should be investigated further – also because it isn’t exactly cheap.

 

A good project manager is made of more than the certificate of a project management organization (PMI/PRINCE2/GPM/IPMA etc.) or a university degree. Aside from the personal skills and abilities that are needed – a project manager should also have a decent amount of (project) experience.

 

And you cannot get this at a university. Personally, I think – further training “yes”, but… Everybody has to find out for themselves which goal they are trying to achieve in the medium-term with this training and if achieving the goal is realistic given the specific conditions (time/talent/money).

 

Here is some more information:

 

Degree Program Project Management (Master of Arts)

Recently, I became aware of the offering by the Management Akademie Heidelberg (MAH for short). Within 21 months of studying, you can graduate with a Master of Arts in Project Management while doing your normal full-time job. The target group are skilled professionals and managers with project management experience.

  • Fact Sheet Master of Arts in the degree program project management (PDF)
  • Brochure Master of Arts in the degree program project management (PDF)

 

I would be happy to hear your suggestions and comments.

2 thoughts on “A Masters in Project Management – Is It Worth It?

  1. Autoliker, Working Auto Liker, Auto Like, Auto Liker, auto liker, autoliker, Autolike, Autolike International, Photo Liker, Status Liker, autolike, ZFN Liker, Increase Likes, Status Auto Liker, Photo Auto Liker, auto like, Autoliker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MeinungProjektmanagement

Masterstudium im Projektmanagement – lohnt sich das?

Projektmanagement

Masterstudium? – Ja/nein?

Dieser Frage geht aktuell Stefan Hagen auf seinem Blog – PM-Blog.com – nach.

 

Auch ich möchte mich gerne kurz dazu äußern…

Ich bin der Meinung, dass Weiterbildung im Grundsatz immer eine lohnende Sache ist. Das gilt vor allem in einer so schnelllebigen Zeit wie heute. Inwieweit sich allerdings ein Masterstudiengang im Bereich Projektmanagement lohnt, darf sicherlich erst mal kritisch hinterfragt werden, zumal es sich nicht um ein Schnäppchen handelt.

 

Einen guten Projektleiter macht weit mehr als das Zertifikat einer PM Organisation (PMI/PRINCE2/GPM/IPMA etc.) oder den Abschluss einer Hochschule aus. Neben den persönlichen Skills und Fähigkeiten, die ein PM haben sollte, gehört auch ein gutes Maß an (Projekt-)Erfahrung dazu.

 

Diese lässt sich jedoch nicht auf einer Hochschule aneignen. Ich persönlich bin der Meinung – Weiterbildung „ja“, aber … Jeder muss für sich persönlich herausfinden, welches Ziel mit der Weiterbildung mittelfristig erreicht werden soll und ob das Erreichen unter den gegebenen Voraussetzungen (Zeit/Talent/Geld) realistisch ist.

 

Hier noch einige Informationen:

 

Studiengang Projektmanagement (Master of Arts)

Neulich wurde ich auf das Angebot der Management Akademie Heidelberg (kurz MAH) hingewiesen. In einer Studiendauer von 21 Monaten kann man hier berufsbegleitend den Master of Arts in Project Management machen. Zielgruppe sind Fach- und Führungskräfte mit PM-Erfahrung.

  • Fact Sheet Master of Arts im Studiengang Projektmanagement (PDF)
  • Broschüre Master of Arts im Studiengang Projektmanagement (PDF)

Über Anregungen und Kommentare würde ich mich freuen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.